Lake Forest Symphony Board Member Receives Major Recognition from Mexican Government

Hector Rasgado-Flores

Hector Rasgado-Flores

Dr. Hector Rasgado-Flores, Board Member of the Lake Forest Symphony, will be recognized by the Mexican Government as a “Distinguished Mexican.” Announced by the Institute for Mexicans Abroad (IME), the National Institute for Women (INMUJERES) and the Coordination of Brand Country and International Media of the Presidency of the Republic, this new recognition aims to make visible the extraordinary career, as well as human and professional qualities of the Mexican people residing abroad, who from their new places of residence continue to promote our country.

Dr. Rasgado-Flores leads the Symphony's Musical Memories program and currently serves as Associate Professor of Physiology at Chicago Medical School at Rosalind Franklin University.

mexican distinguished.png

THE GOVERNMENT OF MEXICO ACKNOWLEDGES 31 "Distinguished Mexicans" living abroad

On July 30 the Evaluation Committee held its first session to award the newly created Recognition for "Distinguished Mexicans." The EMI presented the Committee with 49 nominations, which were submitted by the representations of Mexico abroad. While recognizing that the original task was to award 30 people, the evaluation committee recommended granting 31 awards, under the high quality of the profiles of the candidates.

The Committee is composed by Ambassador Juan Carlos Mendoza Sanchez, Director of IME; Ambassador Pedro Gonzalez Olvera, Head of the Chair Fernando Solana; Dr. Luis de la Calle Pardo, vice president of the Mexican Council of International Affairs COMEXI); Marcela Eternod Arámburu, Executive Secretary of INMUJERES; and Lic. José Manuel Azpiroz Bravo, Director General Brand Country.

These recipients reside in all regions of the world: America, Europe, Africa and Asia. The Mexicans who receive the award are enshrined in their fields as the dancer Isaac Hernandez, conductor Enrique Diemecke, the chef Lydia Aguilar González, the architect Enrique Norten, and violinist Paulina Derbez. Areas of specialization of the winners are diverse: science and academia, entrepreneurship and innovation, creative industries, entrepreneurs, doctors, musicians and restaurateurs, among others. The common denominator of distinguished people with this award is their professional excellence and commitment to Mexico.

The 31 people selected will receive this recognition, which consists of a silver medal specially minted by the Mexican Casa de Moneda for this award, in the coming months through embassies and consulates that postulated the candidates.

Timothy CorpusComment