Stefan Milenkovich

Stefan Milenkovich


Saturday, September 10, 2016 – 8 pm

Sunday, September 11, 2016 – 2 pm

Maestro Kulenovic and the Lake Forest Symphony begin the 59th Season with a reverent tribute to the victims and heroes of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks.  Barber’s solemn Adagio opens the program, and guest soloist Stefan Milenkovic champions Beethoven’s Violin Concerto. The orchestra closes the program with the courageous optimism of the Eroica Symphony.

BARBER Adagio for Strings
BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 3

Allison Eldredge

Allison Eldredge


Saturday, November 12, 2016 – 8 pm

Sunday, November 13, 2016 – 2 pm

Heralded as “a cellist afraid of nothing” by the Chicago Sun Times and “a musician of remarkable gifts” by the Chicago Tribune, Allison Eldredge makes her LFS debut in a program featuring testaments of love by two composers with great admiration for one another. Eldredge brings her deeply communicative tone and commanding technique to Dvořák’s testament of secret love and the last of his “American” works.

Maestro Kulenovic leads the orchestra in Brahms’ Third Symphony—a reconciliation of the composer’s love for Clara Schumann.

BRAHMS Symphony No. 3
DVORÁK Cello Concerto



Saturday, January 21, 2017 – 8 pm

Sunday, January 22, 2017 – 2 pm

The Lake Forest Symphony opens 2017 with the third installment of a cycle of all 104 Haydn symphonies. Soloists from the Lake Forest Symphony take center stage in Hindemith’s neoclassical reflection on the Baroque concerto grosso. 

Beethoven’s sunny and cheerful Fourth Symphony closes the program. Written just a few years prior to his famous 1812 “Immortal Beloved” letter, it was the only one of his symphonies written while in love.

HAYDN Symphony No. 3
HINDEMITH Concerto for
 Woodwinds & Harp
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 4

Vladimir Kulenovic  conductor
Lyon Leifer  flute
Ricardo Castañeda  oboe
Kathryne Pirtle  clarinet
Drew Pattison  bassoon
Tija Danilovics  harp

Ilya Yakushev

Ilya Yakushev


Saturday, April 1, 2017 – 8 pm

Sunday, April 2, 2017 – 2 pm

The fourth offering of our 59th Season features Russian pianist Ilya Yakushev and Lake Forest Symphony principal trumpet David Inmon in a concert of works paying homage to other musical periods. 

Tchaikovsky’s Serenade mimics the style of Mozart, his Classical predecessor, while works by 20th century composers Dmitri Shostakovich and Ralph Vaughan Williams harken back to the Baroque and Renaissance. Fratres, by contemporary mystic composer Arvo Pärt, reaches back in time the furthest, reflecting on ancient religious rituals.

VAUGHAN WILLIAMS Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis
SHOSTAKOVICH Concerto No. 1 for Piano, Trumpet and Strings
PÄRT Fratres
TCHAIKOVSKY Serenade for Strings

Vladimir Kulenovic  conductor
Ilya Yakushev  piano
David Inmon  trumpet

James Stephenson


Saturday, May 20, 2017 – 8 pm

Sunday, May 21, 2017 – 2 pm

The finale of our 59th Season opens with Webern’s clever and imaginative 20th century arrangement of Bach’s famous Musical Offering. 

Chicago Symphony Orchestra clarinetist John Bruce Yeh performs Lake Forest Symphony Composer-In-Residence James Stephenson’s deeply personal and intimate Liquid Melancholy concerto.

The season is brought to a close in grand style with Bruckner’s colossal Fourth Symphony.

BACH (ARR. WEBERN) Ricercare aus Das  Musikalische Opfer
STEPHENSON Clarinet Concerto
 (Liquid Melancholy)
BRUCKNER Symphony No. 4

Vladimir Kulenovic  conductor
John Bruce Yeh  clarinet